Fizzy Thoughts

Dark Man

with 6 comments

After I posted Throat On Fire (which I must confess, is one of my all-time favorites), Tasha suggested that I keep going and turn The Stand into a musical. I honestly had no intention to do that, but after I heard an old Elton John song, I had to do I’m Still Standing, because, well, how could I not??

But I swear this is the last song I’ll do for The Standalong (hey…I heard that sigh of relief), and it’s in honor of the Dark Man (aka the Walking Dude, aka Randall Flagg, aka who the hell knows what else). I wrote this one for Heather, in an attempt to entertain her out of the creepiness that is the Dark Man and to keep her reading…

“Dark Man” (to be sung to the tune of the Commodore’s Brick House*)**

Oww, he’s the Dark…Man
He’s creepy creepy, man he’s freakin’ us all out
He’s the Dark…Man
His eyes glow red, he’ll kill you dead
He’s waitin’ just ahead
Owww, he’s the Dark…Man
Well, he’s the one, the only one,
That thinks this is all good fun

He thinks he’s got the best men
He’s got Lloyd to run the show
Yeah, yeah, and Trash Can Man to torch and fan
Nadine, Harold, Julie…but thank god not Fran

Ohh, he’s the Dark…Man
He’s creepy creepy, man he’s freakin’ us all out
He’s the Dark…Man
His eyes glow red, he’ll kill you dead
He’s waitin’ just ahead
Owww, he’s the Dark…Man
Yeah, he’s the one, the only one,
That thinks this is all good fun

The boots he wears, the flowing hair
And most of all, that sexy red glare
Yeah, yeah
He thinks he’s got the sturm und drang
Enough to blow away the pesky Free Zone gang***

Oww, he’s the Dark…Man
Yeah, he’s creepy creepy, man he’s freakin’ us all out
He’s the Dark…Man
His eyes glow red, he’ll kill you dead
He’s waitin’ just ahead

Blow it up, blow it up now
Blow it up, blow it up now
Blow it up, blow it up now
Blow it up, blow it up up up

Blow it up, blow it up now
Blow it up, blow it up now
Blow it up, blow it up now
Blow it up, blow it uuuuup

Dark. Man.
Yeah, he’s creepy creepy, he’s freakin’ us the hell out
Owwww. Dark. Man.
Yeah, his eyes glow red, he’ll kill you dead
He’s waitin’ just ahead.

Blow it up, blow it up now
Blow it up, blow it up now
Blow it up, blow it up now
Blow it up, blow it up, blow it, blow it

Blow it up, blow it up now
Blow it up, blow it up now
Blow it up, blow it up now
Blow it up, blow it up, blow it

Ohh, a Dark…Man.

********************

*Did you know that there is a Rob Zombie/Lionel Richie version of Brick House (seriously, they are on stage together and if that isn’t the weirdest combo, I don’t know what is). Go watch it (pleeeeeeeease!!!!) and tell me that Rob Zombie wouldn’t make one kick-ass Dark Man in the upcoming movie. (I know! it’s a totally brilliant idea. Obviously, they should hire me as a casting consultant.)

**It was a toss-up between this and Super Creep (he’s a super creep, super creep…he’s super creepy), but this one somehow seemed easier. Have I mentioned Hamburger replaced motorcycles with bass guitars? I have listened to both Brick House and Super Freak more times than I can count in the past 6 months.

***And yeah, this part doesn’t quite work with the tune. Oh well. Hamburger’s the musician in this relationship. I just write bad lyrics.

Written by softdrink

July 19, 2012 at 6:00 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. These songs are just beyond funny. I love the Rob Zombie idea too.

    Melissa

    July 19, 2012 at 8:15 am

  2. Book publishers! Take note…she has a handful of these “songs” now. You need to make an offer on a book deal. Seriously.

    You could also SING these on You Tube and become a You Tube star!

    Ti

    July 19, 2012 at 8:49 am

  3. I have read part of The Stand in graphic novel form, and my assessment is that you did a wonderful job with the song. Flagg is a seriously creepy dude, and seeing him in cartoon form was very creepy. I clearly need to finish this book at some point, as I am enjoying hearing what you have to say in your journey through it.

    zibilee

    July 19, 2012 at 8:55 am

  4. I like the idea of Super Creep, Super Creep, he’s Super Creepy, yow! I think Mr. King would love the idea of you writing songs for his book, as he is such a fan of the arts and pop culture. And just following up on Heather’s comment, you definitely SHOULD read the Stand in graphic format, it is amazing. Just visually mind-blowing. I was reading the last installment on the airplane ride back from IN, and I was kinda hiding it from people around me. It is wicked.

    Sandy

    July 19, 2012 at 5:18 pm

  5. I adore you FizJilPop

    christina

    July 19, 2012 at 6:52 pm

  6. I think this The Stand: The Musical needs to happen. You’ve already found the perfect person to play the Dark Man!

    heidenkind

    July 19, 2012 at 7:14 pm


Leave a comment