Fizzy Thoughts

Half of a Yellow Sun

with 19 comments

Half of a Yellow Sun
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
September 2006
543 pages

Once upon a time I liked happy endings. But lately, I’ve been reading some pretty dark books…and I’ve been okay with the fact that everything isn’t neatly wrapped and tied with a bow at the end. Half of a Yellow Sun falls in this category. This book is relentlessly real, from its descriptions of war and starvation, to its characters and their actions, and ultimately to the destructive effects of war on countries and classes and families and individuals.

This is an amazing book. Adichie takes a little known historical event (Biafra’s attempt at independence from Nigeria), adds in some memorable characters, creates a strong story set against the historical event and then she jumps all over the 1960s in the telling of the story.

Half of a Yellow Sun follows the lives of five individuals as events lead them towards civil war. Young Ugwu serves as houseboy to Odenigbo, a university professor who is caught up in the politics of the era. When the beautiful Olanna, a sociology professor, joins the household, Ugwu becomes quite devoted to the couple. The story also includes Olanna’s estranged twin sister Kainene, and her English lover, Richard. As the story jumps back and forth through the 1960’s and the events leading to the massacres of the Igbo and the succession of eastern Nigerian and the creation of the nation of Biafra and the subsequent civil war, we see the effects of war on each of the characters (and yes, I know that sentence could use some work, but I’m too tired to bother). As Kainene and Olanna lose their privileged upper class status, they grow closer together. As Odenigbo is forced out of his middle class, university life his weaknesses become more apparent. We see Ugwu forced to grow up amidst the horror of war. And Richard…well, poor clueless Richard pretty much flounders around for most of the novel.

I think I’ve said this before, but I’m a sucker for books where I learn something important without feeling like I’m reading a history text or being preached to. And actually, the history in this book isn’t readily apparent. I had to google a few things to get some additional background info. If you are going to read this book, it would be helpful to have a little bit of knowledge about the Hausa, Igbo (or Ibo) and Yoruba, as well as the brief existence of Biafra.

If you are at all interested in historical fiction set in Africa I’d recommend this book. And even if you’re not, it’s still a fantastic read, definitely worth the time and emotional investment.

Written by softdrink

May 5, 2009 at 7:00 am

Posted in book love

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m interested in all of the above. I haven’t read a single bad review of this book, yet I still haven’t read it. I don’t really know why. I used to prefer happy endings too, but like you’ve I become content with stories that don’t wrap up neatly in the end. Besides so many great stories don’t end ‘happily ever after.’How could I deprive myself? I just got a coupon from Borders. I think I know where my money’s going today. = )Great review!

    J.S. Peyton

    May 5, 2009 at 7:29 am

  2. You know I will be reading this book since I am such a fan of Achebe and his Igbo tribe. I’d love to read another’s take on Nigeria and her people.

    lilly

    May 5, 2009 at 7:36 am

  3. I do like historical fiction set in Africa, so I’ve got this on my wish list. I’m glad to see it’s good.

    bermudaonion

    May 5, 2009 at 7:57 am

  4. I also like books from which you learn something. It’s like a double bonus!

    rhapsodyinbooks

    May 5, 2009 at 7:59 am

  5. I read this last year and really liked it.I was a little hard for me to read sometimes, but always incredibly good. I want to read something else by this author!

    bethany

    May 5, 2009 at 8:41 am

  6. I’m really intrigued with this book after reading so many good reviews on it. I’ll have to add onto my wishlist!

    Melody

    May 5, 2009 at 8:57 am

  7. I think I’ve read enough good reviews of this one that I need to find it!

    Elizabeth

    May 5, 2009 at 9:28 am

  8. i LOVED this book. it was so good. glad you enjoyed it. maybe you’d also be interested in her other, “purple hibiscus.”

    Veronica

    May 5, 2009 at 9:58 am

  9. I’m reading this one right now and have to finish it before my book club meets this thursday. I am enjoying it as well. I added Purple Hibiscus to my “to read” pile as someone from book club said it was also good.

    Ti

    May 5, 2009 at 10:27 am

  10. This is an incredible book. My only gripe with the book was that it needed maps. I went online to get some maps so I could follow the story better.

    Melanie

    May 5, 2009 at 11:10 am

  11. I love historical fiction, I love an African setting. Guess what’s going on my wish list?

    Beth F

    May 5, 2009 at 11:33 am

  12. It was really good, wasn’t it? I would like to read her other book now. War sucks so bad.

    raidergirl3

    May 5, 2009 at 3:46 pm

  13. I do love books that are set in Africa, whether they contain historical information or not, so I may have to look into this one!

    Jo-Jo

    May 5, 2009 at 4:51 pm

  14. I agree Jill, this is an amazing book. It’s one of my favorites from last year.

    Dar

    May 5, 2009 at 5:46 pm

  15. JS – I think it’s destined to be a classic…and I don’t think I’ve ever said that before.lilly and Kathy – I think you’ll both like it!rhapsody – and bonus, we’re not in school!bethany – is it worth 5 chickens?melody and elizabeth – it’s totally worth buying, imo.Ti – it’s books like this that make me want a book club.Veronica – yes, I plan on reading Purple Hibiscus, too!Melanie – I did the same thing…google is my very good friend.beth – stay tuned…I mioght just give it away.raidergirl – Yup, war sucks big time.Jo-Jo – I highly recommend it!Dar – I think this one will be in the top 10 for me for 2009.

    softdrink

    May 5, 2009 at 6:25 pm

  16. I loved this book too. As you said there is so much to learn in this. I know so much more about Biafra Civil war now than I did before.

    violetcrush

    May 6, 2009 at 12:54 am

  17. I loved this book, too! It was informational yet emotionally satisfying. I also enjoyed Purple Hibiscus, but not quite as much 🙂

    Gentle Reader

    May 6, 2009 at 8:16 am

  18. I like that you said, “I’m a sucker for books where I learn something important without feeling like I’m reading a history text or being preached to.” Exactly! I love historical fiction for this reason. I enjoyed this book as well but was confused on a lot of the details as well.

    Natasha @ Maw Books

    May 15, 2009 at 10:51 pm

  19. When I started reading this book it was as if the author had stolen my fathers stories and had claimed them as her own. What a fantastic book on RELATIONSHIPS during the Nigerian civil war. When we were kids my (Nigerian) father would tell us stories about the 60’s in Nigeria as he was also a professor at Ibaden during the same time. He, as a matter of fact managed to flee and avoid what occured in the latter part of the book but knew people who were caught up in the war. As kids we were never really intrested in these remote stories, just as our kids today don’t care much about what we have to say.

    But when I recently read this book I WAS BLOWN AWAY at how a stranger (the author) had put into writing everything I had been told over the course of my childhood by my father. Even some of the characters names were the names I had heard my father mention. I’m now 45 and I feel ashamed that I paid so little attention then, because to me they were just stories.

    For those of you who feel like “yeah, just another war story, how much of it is true anyway?” be assured this book is based on fact. I was shaken because it was so close to home.

    Ifi

    October 30, 2010 at 8:40 am


Leave a comment